On What Paris Used to Be

15Jun10

I’ve posted a similar performance before for PoliOlogy’s acoustic cafe, but I think this one tops it. The more I hear “1901,” I really think it’s one of the better pop songs of the last 20 years. It’s amazing that a song can about the way Paris was in 1901, and yet also used for a Cadillac commercial. I’m going to have to break this one down at some point. I think their explanation might be a diversion of sorts; it’s hard to see how “your girlfriend is slipping away” fits in historical context. Musicians have this habit of not wanting to explain what a song is really about; the way I see it, this is less about art, and more not offending anyone. We always settle around a near consensus about what stuff is about anyway, might as well have some control on that.

No Responses Yet to “On What Paris Used to Be”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

