Brown Out

19May10

No bias, no bull:

Campbell Brown is leaving CNN, where she hosts the ratings-challenged 8PM program bearing her name.

“Of course I pay attention to ratings,” Brown said in a statement. “And simply put, the ratings for my program are not where I would like them to be. It is largely for this reason that I am stepping down as anchor of CNN’s ‘Campbell Brown.'”

“To be clear: this is my decision, and one that I have been thinking about for some time,” she continued. “As for why, I could have said, that I am stepping down to spend more time with my children (which I truly want to do). Or that I am leaving to pursue other opportunities (which I also truly want to do). But I have never had much tolerance for others’ spin, so I can’t imagine trying to stomach my own. The simple fact is that not enough people want to watch my program, and I owe it to myself and to CNN to get out of the way so that CNN can try something else. CNN will have to figure out what that is.”

This is what happens when you base your political philosophy on braindead centrism. Campbell was solid in her election coverage in 2008, but she just came off as angry at…uh…something…the plight of the independent?…on her TV show. Another note—this apology is egregiously egotistical. I’m quite certain that CNN may have fired  had a few talks with her about her ratings before she “decided to step down.” So for her to claim this was entirely her decision; I just don’t buy it.

No Responses Yet to “Brown Out”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

