Political Ad News

27Apr10

Visitors of Drudge will recognize this one:

Vaughn Ward got in trouble for not including a disclaimer on the ad about the military not endorsing a repeal of “Obamacare”– you know, the health care reform bill remarkably similar to “Romneycare.” (One wonders if the military will ever endorse their single payer system for all Americans).

As much as I love anyone holding an assault rifle threatening a legislative procedure, I have to say I’m impressed that the military stepped up. The question of “supporting the troops” became far too politicized in the last decade. However, it’s worth checking out Ward’s gymnastics:

“Reading the regulations and then talking to others in the Marine Corps, I said, you know what, this is a gray area that I don’t need to be involved in. I don’t need to sell the Marine Corps. I don’t need people to look at me and say, ‘Oh, he’s a Marine, so I’m going to support him.’ I think I can do it in other ways. So, I have decided not to even use anything like that going forward.”

Clearly, Ward didn’t want anyone’s support because he was a Marine. In fact, I’m sure that’s why he was in camouflage; He didn’t want anyone to see him at all!

It’s a classic fake-gaffe; Ward does want to mention that he’s a marine–it’s why he’s in full combat uniform, with a large gun. This is not something that can be overlooked. Not only that, but Ward placed the ad for $2,500 dollars on one website. But now, here I am covering, and re-posting the ad here. The ad will no doubt be played over and over again as news fodder, mostly on Fox, but the other networks too. The controversy should bring an exponential return on the initial $2,500 deposit.

Why aren’t Democrats this smart?

Programming note— I’m going to cover a lot more PoliComm news with the 2010 elections approaching. This is just about the first hint of any real direction the blog has had since its relaunch.

One Response to “Political Ad News”

  1. Our kids will look back on this bullshit and just laugh and laugh. The idiocy is so rampant — and so PROUD. Dagnabbit, what could possibly be wrong with posing armed and in uniform promising to repeal a bill that by the time our kids are thinking about it will be a seamless piece of proud American history?

    Dear PoliOlogy’s future kids,
    Please don’t think ill of us. We were trying our best.
    xo,
    ellaesther


Leave a Reply

