Harpoon Oyster Stout: The Slate Article of Beers

21Apr10

“if people want to buy jalapeño-and-oyster flavored ice cream, then companies will sell it to them.”Jim Manzi

Went down to The Lower Depths before the Sox game yesterday. Overall, the place is similar to Bukowski’s; a deep collection of bottled beers, with about a dozen rotating draughts. The first one I tried was Brooklyn’s Dark Matter, a thickish brown ale, almost like a stout. Just enough crispness, with a flavor like someone melted some Cowtails and Hershey’s dark Chocolate in a cappuccino with some whiskey. It’s not quite all it sounds, but it’s definitely worth a try if you’re lucky enough to find it. This beer is the second Brooklyn I’ve tried that was new to me this week–also got their Summer Ale, which basically is a better quality Sam Adams’ summer mixed with an IPA. I’m not a big IPA fan, but since so many others are, it’ll go over well.

I hadn’t had much to eat, so I figured, why not a stout? Unfortunately, Harpoon provided the answer.

When I saw the Oyster Stout, I thought it was one of those things that was crazy enough to work. Harpoon is far from my favorite New England brewery, but they generally know what they are doing. Not the case here. It was somehow soupy, yet watered down. It had an acidic taste that was not the saltiness I was expecting. Just a genuinely revolting experience in the end. Check out Harpoon’s defense…er…description here. Unless child labor and 19th century work conditions were involved, I can virtually guarantee it was not as “fun” as they had brewing it.

3 Responses to “Harpoon Oyster Stout: The Slate Article of Beers”

  1. Not a fan, eh? I’ll have to give it a shot next time I’m down at the brewery (there’s a satellite brewery about 15min south of me these days, thanksfully).

    I am curious though, what is your favorite NE brewery? I’m not sure I could name a fave, but up on my list are Magic Hat, Harpoon, Long Trail, Trout River and Allagash, to name a few… Damn I guess it’s all good!

    • 2 poliology

      I’m a big fan of Peak Organic, and I do like Magic Hat typically, especially their Circus Boy, but I think they’ve been a little off recently. Just had a nice black pepper ale over at Cambridge Brewing Company, absolutely delicious. Ipswich is great. I don’t know. I even have a soft spot for Narragansett. I’ve had a lot of time to uh, study, up here.

      • 3 poliology

        and Smutty Nose! How could I forget that one.

        Dogfish head is my favorite American brewery right now, though they are in Delaware. The Raison D’etre is probably my favorite, though I had a nice Apricot ale from them too. I forget the name. Something “golden”


Leave a Reply

