Programming Note

08Apr10

I’ve been noticing more grammatical errors in my blogging. I don’t think it would ever come to this, but just in case–(the emdash is lost on WordPress) yes, I know the difference between “your” and “you’re” and “there” and “their.” Please do not feel the need to explain these differences to me, and I’d be happy to do a post explaining the usages if necessary. And yes, I do use spellcheck, but I’m finding that WordPress’s version is not particularly strong. I do read over a post once or twice before I hit publish, but I’m going to miss things.

If the meaning of anything is ever unclear though, please correct me or ask. Part of my new approach to blogging is that I’m deliberately a little more insouciant now; it helps get the content to the page. There will be some posts I take more seriously than others, though.

2 Responses to “Programming Note”

  1. 1 emilylhauser

    …not to mention that the damn spellchecks of the world will not often tell you “yes, ‘their’ is spelled correctly, but, you pinhead, you meant ‘there’!”

    Not to mention, also, that most still don’t recognize the name “Obama.” I ask you.

    (Just write! Just write!)

  2. 2 poliology

    I guess we should be happy about this to some extent, I mean we don’t want the computers to write their own stuff now do we?

    (Still, as an editor of my school’s litmag, this is all quite embarrassing.)


Leave a Reply

