The Re-Launch

24Feb09

As noted previously, this blog needs to get back on track. I’ve temporarily shelved my idea for that other blog (I think it may be more of a business really), in favor of rebooting Poliology.

First, some honesty. The first reason this blog got so neglected is that I really lost interest after the election to a certain extent.  There was just an utter depression of news, most of it centered on the transition or looking back at the Bush years. These weren’t really things I was incredibly interested in, and I guess this is why I haven’t pursued journalism as a profession with more vigor. Although, I could also attribute that to the fact that industry is collapsing. One of the two.

I just had a lack of inspiration at the time, and I think I failed to really understand the blogosphere and what it was about. For a news blog, I made my focus too narrow, and too serious. I found myself posting things to my Facebook account that could have easily gone here, but I thought they weren’t serious enough. In that regard, Andrew Sullivan’s Daily Dish and the rest of the blogs at the Atlantic really changed my perspective on what a blog could do. The truth is, Poliology is not just a take on political events, its my take on the world, and I just happened to be largely pre-occupied with government and politics.  I should have probably realized this when the top story all time on this blog was a comparison Roman Abramovich poor purchases of the services of Andriy Shevchenko and Amy Winehouse.

Another reason this blog was neglected was my employment situation. Things changed rather dramatically when my new manager here started monitoring our computer use even at times when the pace was slow as a turtle. This was not only a morale killer for the office, but as it turns out, a blog killer. I have recently moved to a looser department where at the very least I can probably post something at lunch time, although I will be working 40 hours.

That brings me to my next point. It took me three months to find a job, and while I will be getting valuable experience,  this position was not my first choice. If you believe what the Emerson newsletter says about Political Communication graduates, I will be making 18,000 dollars per year less than the average recent grad. And I am lucky to find a job in this economic climate, which is worse than its been since the Great Depression, and some of the projections are showing it will end up being worse. People are talking about a lost decade in America.

As I alluded to in the last post before my disappearance, I’ve taken a view of this crisis that may draw a lot of criticism. It certainly did at the Huffington Post at the time it was published.

What I feel more than anything right now is seething contempt for the Baby Boomers and a decent chunk of Generation X. I don’t own a credit card, and I have found that many of my peers don’t. I don’t because I know it would open myself up to irresponsibility. And that’s what got us into this mess, why I have to settle for a job that I will have to awkwardly defend in future interviews with prospective employers as relevant experience.

I’ve worked my ass off for years now. I’m not one of those to say “where’s my bailout” because in all honesty I at least understand why the bailouts happened enough to stave off populist rage, even if they were executed so poorly and gave money to the same group that fucked the whole thing up. The truth is, I never expected anything from the government, because I’ve grown up in an era where the government hasn’t done anything for the people.

I most clearly remember the Bush years of course, and there’s no need to pile on any more there. The rest of the blogosphere can take care of that. Maybe its that I just started paying attention to the news closely at the time of Clinton’s impeachment, a matter that seems trivial now, but at the time seemed to be the biggest problem in the political world. Perhaps I was tainted from the get go. But in retrospect, studying the history of the 1990s, the supposedly prosperous Clinton years didn’t seem to do much but hold things together.

But back to my point about worthless government:

There was the passage of NAFTA, which was painful, albeit necessary. Still, the government didn’t do anything to enforce the environmental positions that could have helped save some plants, and they certainly didn’t help the workers that were laid off adjust to the new economy.

Under the current system, I will never receive Social Security or Medicare. Yet I still have to pay for it.

Universal Health Care is constantly pushed back.

Our infrastructure crumbled when we could have made the entire country broadband capable.

We could have pushed for cheaper fuel sources which would have created jobs and gave us real wealth.

The list could go on. The most I’ve ever got from the government was a drop in the bucket to pay for my college education, which apparently may be worthless for the next ten years.

I guess the real reason I decided to come back is that someone, or rather, a lot of people need to speak up for our generation. We gave the country the first black president. That’s right, us; we campaigned for him, we made him a phenomenon.  He’s already been somewhat co-opted by those before us. I don’t want that to continue to happen. I want people to know that despite the utter failure and self absorption of the Baby Boomers, there is a generation beneath them that will do their damndest to change the world and the country for the better. My role for the time being will to be to help provide perspective on this disaster and the world around us, allowing room for outrage, reflection, and how it will affect us going forward.

Poliology: Live Blogging the Next Great Depression.

No Responses Yet to “The Re-Launch”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

